Home2019-07-23T11:09:11+02:00
Thomas Mann House – California, around 1942

Welcome to my page

Other than my ancestors, the „dangerous bud of literary ambition“ has begun to bloom inside of me very late. „The turning point“ (1952), the life-story of my uncle Klaus Mann told by himself, gave me the impulse to write my debut novel, an only scarcely veiled autobiography.

As time went by, I veered away from these beginnings with a number of fictional and essayistic works as well as with two multimedia projects. At present I’m preparing a five weeks lecture journey through the USA and Canada from coast to coast, while being committed as a Honorary Fellow of the Thomas Mann House in Pacific Palisades. The latter house was purchased by the German government and rededicated as a venue of transatlantic encounters. The tour consists of lectures and speeches at universities, colleges, academies and cultural institutions in the coastal regions of the west and the east, as well as in the heartlands of the United States. As a citizen of both countries the USA and Germany, I plead for a transatlantic dialogue as well as for an inner American dialogue between political parties and groups who more and more diverge one from another. I do this by telling a biographic and historical review of my family – especially with the younger generation in view.

“The long-term purpose of a powerful dialogic cooperation of people ensures the future of democracy”, said German Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier.

(Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier)

This is why I want to visit as many high schools as possible during my journey, for the purpose to learn about the US young academic’s value system, their relations to their own country, to Europe and to the world.

Home2019-07-18T12:39:57+02:00

Herzlich willkommen

Der „gefährliche Keim der literarischen Ambitionen“ hat bei mir – anders als bei meinen literarischen Vorfahren – erst spät zu sprießen begonnen. Der Wendepunkt (1952), der Lebensbericht meines Onkels Klaus Mann, war der Anstoß für mein eigenes Erstlingswerk, eine wenig verhüllte Autobiographie.

Inzwischen habe ich mich über eine Reihe von belletristischen und essayistischen Büchern und zwei Multimediaprojekte von diesen Anfängen entfernt. Zurzeit bereite ich als Honorary Fellow des von der deutschen Bundesregierung erworbenen und zu einem transatlantischen Begegnungszentrum umgewidmeten Thomas Mann House im kalifornischen Pacific Palisades eine fünfwöchige Lecture Tour durch die USA und Kanada from Coast to Coast vor. Diese Lecture Tour besteht aus Vorträgen und Lesungen an Universitäten, Colleges, Akademien und Kulturinstituten in der östlichen und westlichen Küstenregion sowie in den „Heartlands“ der USA. Auf der Grundlage eines familienbiographischen und geschichtlichen Rückblicks werbe ich in diesen Veranstaltungen als amerikanischer und als deutscher Staatsbürger besonders bei der jungen Generation für einen transatlantischen und für einen inneramerikanischen Dialog zwischen zunehmend einander entfremdeten politischen Gruppierungen und Parteien in den USA.

Das langfristige Ziel eines wieder erstarkenden dialogischen Miteinanders ist die Sicherung einer „Zukunft der Demokratie“ .

(Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier)

Deswegen werde ich auf meiner US-Reise auch möglichst viele Highschools besuchen, um die Beziehungen des wissenschaftlichen US-Nachwuchses zu seinem eigenem Land sowie zu Europa und zur Welt insgesamt und sein Wertesystem näher kennenzulernen.