Frido Mann’s Vita2019-07-27T22:02:14+02:00

Frido Mann’s Vita

I was born 1940 in California, the exile country of the family Mann – a family of writers – and moved to Germany after WW II. I successfully completed my degree in Music in Zurich and at the Conservatorio di Santa Cecilia in Rome, Italy. Subsequently I added a degree in Catholic Theology and Psychology in Munich and Münster in Germany.

I had my first professional positions at a psychiatric hospital and at several universities in Germany and Prague (Tzech Republic), where I pursued an academic career. My literary debut “Professor Parsifal” appeared 1985, followed by “Der Infant” (1992). The play “Terezín” (1994) premiered under George Tabori at the Akademietheater in Vienna and ran prize-winning in Zurich (Switzerland). “Brasa” (1999) was the first tome of an intercultural series of novels. At the same era I began to make efforts to found an international cultural center in Paraty (Brazil), the birth place of my grandmother Julia.

After seven novels I published my autobiography “Achterbahn” (2008), followed by “Mein Nidden” (2012). After that I opened new perspectives with the statement “Das Versagen der Religion” (2013), the commitment “An die Musik” (2014/15) and the cooperational work with my wife Christine Mann “Es werde Licht. Die Einheit von Geist und Materie in der Quantenphysik” (2017).

The multimedia project “Flood” with music by Vladimir Tarasov had its world premiere 2009 in Vilnius, Europe’s cultural capital in this year. Short time before the reelection of Barack Obama as president of the United states in 2012 the musical piece “President Jekyll” (director Martina Veh, music by Christoph Reiserer) world premiered at the America House in Munich.

Since 2017 I’m Honorary Fellow of the Thomas Mann House in Pacific Palisades. The house, which was purchased and rededicated as a transatlantic cultural center by the German government in 2016, was the exile home of Thomas Mann and thus my grandparent’s house until I was nine years old. In June 2018 the new Thomas Mann House was opened in the presence of German Bundespräsident Mr. Steinmeier. The first result of my efforts for this great project of the German government is my book “Das Weiße Haus des Exils” (2018).

Biografie2019-07-19T10:28:53+02:00

Frido Mann Biografie

Im kalifornischen Exil der Schriftstellerfamilie Mann wurde ich 1940 geboren und übersiedelte nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg nach Europa. Ich absolvierte ein Musikstudium in Zürich und am Conservatorio di Santa Cecilia in Rom. Es folgte ein Studium der Katholischen Theologie und Psychologie in München und Münster.

Berufliche Stationen waren eine mehrjährige Arbeit an einem psychiatrischen Krankenhaus und die akademische Laufbahn an deutschen Universitäten mit einer Gasttätigkeit in Prag. Der literarische Erstling Professor Parsifal erschien 1985, gefolgt von Der Infant (1992). Das Theaterstück Terezín (1994) hatte unter der Regie von George Tabori im Akademietheater Wien Premiere und wurde in Zürich preisgekrönt. Brasa (1999) war der erste Band einer interkulturellen Romanfolge. Damals begann der Versuch, in Paraty/Brasilien, dem Geburtsort meiner Urgroßmutter Julia, ein internationales Kultur- und Begegnungszentrum aufzubauen

Nach insgesamt sieben Romanen erschien die Autobiografie Achterbahn (2008), gefolgt von Mein Nidden (2012). Neue Perspektiven eröffneten die Stellungnahme Das Versagen der Religion (2013), das Bekenntnis An die Musik (2014/15) und das gemeinsam mit meiner Frau Christine Mann verfasste Buch Es werde Licht. Die Einheit von Geist und Materie in der Quantenphysik (2017).

Das Multimediaprojekt FLOOD mit der Musik von Vladimir Tarasov wurde im August 2009 in Vilnius, damals Europäische Kulturhauptstadt, uraufgeführt. Im Amerikahaus München, folgte 2012, kurz vor der Wiederwahl Barack Obamas zum Präsidenten der Vereinigten Staaten, die Uraufführung des Musiktheaters PRESIDENT JEKYLL mit der Musik von Christoph Reiserer und unter der Regie von Martina Veh.

Seit 2017 bin ich „Honorary Fellow“ des Thomas Mann House in Pacific Palisades. Das von der deutschen Bundesregierung 2016 erworbene und zu einem transatlantischen Dialog- und Residenzzentrum umgewidmete ehemalige Exilhaus Thomas Manns war einst mein Großelternhaus bis zum Alter von knapp neun Jahren gewesen. Im Juni 2018 wurde das neue Thomas Mann House durch Bundespräsident Steinmeier eröffnet. Ein erstes Ergebnis meines Engagements für dieses großartige Projekt der deutschen Bundesregierung ist mein Buch Das Weiße Haus des Exils (2018).